Oyo/Ogun Border Dispute: Give Peace A Chance, Maintain Status Quo, Technical Committee Urges.

File photo: Gov Abiola Ajimobi at the FRCN Ibadan zonal headquarters during an interactive session on Wednesday.

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

The Technical Committee jointly set up by Oyo and Ogun states governments on border disputes between the two states at the weekend asked residents in the disputed area to give peace a chance as the committee intensified its efforts at resolving the dispute.

Chairman of the 14 man Committee and the Oyo state Attorney Geberal and Commissioner for Justice, Barrister Olusegun Abinbola gave the charge in a statement issued at the end of the committee meeting held at the Ministry of Justice, Secretariat, Agodi, Ibadan

Barrister Abimbola stressed that in doing this, there is the need for those living in and around the disputed area to allow peace to reign in the spirit of brotherliness.

He also pleaded with the residents and the entire communities in the disputed areas to maintain the status quo and hold  their swords pending the resolution of the issues generated by both governments.

It would be recalled that delegates from the two states led by their Deputy Governors met on Thursday, 22nd June, 2017 at Western Hall, Parliament Building, Secretariat, Ibadan and jointly set up a 14- man technical committee to look into perennial communal clashes occasioned by land and border matters in the disputed  border areas in Ido local government of Oyo State and Ilugun Local Council Development Area in Ogun State over Bakatari and Gbagba Amodu village and Ibarapa Central LGA, Oyo and Opeji LCDA, Ogun State over Bansa Community as well as Iwajowa LGA and Imeko-Afon LGA in Oyo and Ogun State respectively over Ijio land.