Lagos Increases Distribution Centres For LAKE Rice

Lake Rice in bags


In response to rising demand by consumers, Lagos State government has increased the number of distribution centres for LAKE Rice.

The decision to add more sales outlets was taken after the review of reports from already existing designated centres.

As the Commissioner for Agriculture, Oluwatoyin Suarau, declared, the essence of Lagos-Kebbi States governments’ partnership to produce LAKE Rice is to ensure the continuous availability of the rice in every part of Lagos State and to “work assiduously to ensure adequate supply all over the state.”

The two additional centres, namely:  Farmer’s Mart, Ajah and Farm Service Centre, Temu-Epe will complement the activities of other centres in ensuring that LAKE Rice is available and accessible across the state, Suarau said.

“The need to ensure that LAKE Rice circulates into the nooks and crannies of Lagos is key in the state government’s drive to attain food sufficiency,” the agric commissioner explained.

Food production and self-sufficiency, he stressed, have been given priority attention at the state government’s policy and strategic levels.

He reiterated that the price of the rice has not changed, and also emphasized that Lagos State government will continue to maintain the price of the product in order to make it affordable to consumers.

Suarau disclosed that necessary logistics have been put in place by the state government to ensure “a hassle-free purchase of the product in an atmosphere devoid of rancour.”

The process of purchase, he added, has been made easier for everyone.

He expressed belief that the addition of new centres will improve access to, and ensure effective distribution of, the rice.

Already existing designated sales points are the secretariats of the 57 local governments and local council development areas of Lagos State.  Others are Farm Service Centre, Odogboyan, Ikorodu; Farmers Mart, Surulere; Agric Input Supply Authority (LAISABA), Ojo; Agricultural Development Authority (ADA), Oko-oba, Agege, and Lagos Television (LTV) Complex, Agidingbi, Ikeja.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here